Chicago youth basketball: leagues, clinics, camps and teams
Your kid has spent the summer asking you to rebound in the driveway, and now they want “real basketball.” One search later, you have a park activity, a Sunday league, a skills clinic, and a travel-team form open in four tabs. In Chicago, the first decision is the kind of basketball. The logo comes later. Match the player to the right format, then compare the exact gym, eligible grade, schedule, entry path, and full cost.
Key Takeaways
—1. Most new players should start with rec. A nearby Park District, YMCA, Chicago Rec Sports, or a league that keeps practice and games to one weekly block can give a child the game experience they need without turning the family weekend into a regional road trip.
—2. A clinic and a league solve different problems. Choose a clinic for more reps on ball handling, shooting, or footwork. Choose a league when the child needs teammates, games, and decisions made at game speed.
—3. Club and AAU are an added layer. They are not an automatic promotion. Tryouts, extra practices, tournament weekends, and travel make sense when the player wants that level and the whole household can carry the schedule and cost.
The Chicago basketball alphabet, decoded
For a first team experience, proximity is a basketball feature. A short trip makes it easier to arrive for warmups, stay for the full season, and get back to the gym next week. Start with the closest plausible options, then read the activity description closely.
These programs are useful when a family wants a predictable weekly block, more focused skill work, or basketball during a school break. The Bulls name, a camp label, and a clinic label each describe a different experience, so compare what the child will actually do on the court.
Club basketball deserves a separate family conversation. A tryout result can feel like the whole decision, but the offer still needs an exact team, coach, practice gym, tournament calendar, travel radius, and complete fee. The basketball fit and the household fit have to survive the same read.
Basketball does not use one citywide opening day. One program is already playing while another is collecting interest forms and a third has not posted its next camp. These are the practical windows shown by the September 17 sources, rather than permanent annual dates.
This sequence creates two useful planning moments. Fall recreational programs often require attention in late summer. Spring and summer camps begin publishing details while winter basketball is still underway. A winter player can therefore be receiving summer-camp email before the family has washed the current uniform for the last time.
The prices below describe different formats and session lengths. A $130 camp day, a $219 seven-week league, and a $900 team season are three different purchases, so the fee alone cannot rank them.
For club basketball, the team fee is only the first line. Uniforms, tournament entry, transportation, hotels, admission, and meals may be separate. Ask what the offer includes before mentally dividing the price by the number of practices. The pre-season playbook has a fuller set of questions for a tryout or team offer.
Choose by program format
Rec or house
Park activities and recreational leagues for new and returning players who want local games or instruction for a defined season.
Clinic or training
More time on ball handling, shooting, footwork, and small-sided play. Useful when a player can name the part of the game they want to improve.
Camp
Several hours of instruction in one day or one school-break week, without adding a full season to the calendar.
Club, travel, or AAU
Tryout- or evaluation-based teams with more practices and tournament weekends. AAU stands for Amateur Athletic Union, though Chicago families and providers often use the term loosely for club basketball.
Team-entry event
A league or tournament for an existing roster. If you are a parent looking for a team for one child, this is the wrong door.
Camps and clinics for ages 3–17 overall. Individual registration is the expected route when sessions are published; no live session or checkout was visible at review.
The Chicago Park District is a public, park-specific starting point. It does not operate one verified citywide youth league with a single age range or price. Its Fall 2026 basketball finder showed 2-Ball, 3-on-3, 4-on-4, family basketball, open play, and Basketball 100 at the September 17 review.
Pros
Youth age bands included 6 to under 10, 8 to under 12, 9 to under 14, and 10 to under 14. Locations included Humboldt, Holstein, Kennedy, Dvorak, Fosco, Sumner, and Addams. Fees in that snapshot ranged from free to $44, and individual listings displayed their own openings or full status. The activity description is important because “basketball” can describe instruction, informal play, or a short competition rather than a conventional team league.
Cons
Best fit
In other words, read past the orange ball icon. A low-cost 3-on-3 activity may be exactly right. It may also differ from the five-on-five league a child is picturing.
Chicago Rec Sports boys basketball serves grades 1–8 at the ComEd Recreation Center, 1434 S. Loomis Street. The Fall 2026 page lists a September 3 through October 25 season and separates practice-and-game, game-only, and practice-only choices where offered.
Pros
The combined option costs $280 for eight Thursday practices and eight Sunday games. Practice-only runs September 3 through October 22 for $210, while game-only runs September 13 through October 25 for $210.
Cons
That split is unusually useful. A child who already plays elsewhere can add practice without another set of games, while a family with a packed Thursday can choose Sunday games alone where that option is offered.
Best fit
The provider's younger program is separate. Early Child Basketball is a co-ed introductory class for ages 4–5, with 45-minute sessions on Sundays. Keeping these pages separate avoids giving the impression that the grade-school program itself is co-ed.
The YMCA basketball program spans instruction and league play. Level 1 covers fundamentals. Level 2 develops passing, dribbling, shooting, and offensive footwork. The Youth Basketball League serves grades K–12, and its high-school league uses team registration for Sunday games.
Pros
Programs belong to local Ys, so one branch may offer a different age band or format from another. Chicago branches include Irving Park, Lake View, South Side, Kelly Hall, McCormick, North Lawndale, Rauner Family, and West Garfield Park. The current basketball catalog showed an Irving Park travel league at $230 for members and $330 for non-members; those rates should not be treated as a YMCA-wide price.
Cons
Best fit
Treat the branch as the provider. “The Y has basketball” is the beginning of the search; the specific branch, level, and schedule make the decision.
i9 basketball is organized by venue and cohort. Current Chicago sites include the Drucker Center at 1535 N. Dayton Street, Bell Elementary at 3730 N. Oakley Avenue, DIEGO Academy at 1313 N. Claremont Avenue, and St. Matthias School at 4910 N. Claremont Avenue.
Pros
Many leagues put a short practice immediately before the game, creating one weekly block. The September 17 inventory included co-ed divisions from Pre-K 4 through fifth grade and girls divisions at Bell. Status is cohort-specific: one grade can be waitlisted while another grade at the same venue remains available. A seven-week Drucker fall league reached $219 plus a $3 processing fee.
Cons
Best fit
That practice-then-game block is the main scheduling advantage: one drive, one pair of basketball shoes to locate, one chunk of the weekend.
Hi-Five Jr. NBA Hoops meets Sundays at the Hope Student Athletic Center, 2641 W. Harrison Street. Divisions cover K–1, grades 2–3, grades 4–5, and grades 6–7. The separate Little Ballers program serves co-ed Pre-K players at age 4.
Pros
Fall 2026 runs October 4 through December 6. The first two weeks cover skills and evaluations, followed by eight weeks of skill work, a short practice, and a game. Winter 2027 runs January 3 through March 14. Hi-Five says a player may join after the season begins when space remains, with the fee prorated, although the public page does not list the price.
Cons
Best fit
The two evaluation weeks make this a gentler bridge into league play than a program that begins with a game on day one.
Hot Shots basketball separates clinics by skill level and also offers camps, enrichment, girls sessions, and Game Time play. Current Chicago sessions span ages 5–14. Published basketball venues include Windy City Sports Academy, Near North Montessori, Wicker Park, and Catherine Cook School, although each session has its own location.
Pros
The September 17 listings ranged from one-day school-break camps to multiweek clinics and leagues. The skills-camp page listed $130 for one day, $480 for four days, and $595 for five days. Multiweek clinic and Game Time prices varied by age, length, and venue. A Register button leads to the registration system, but it does not state how many places remain.
Cons
Best fit
This is a choose-the-format option. A one-day camp fills a day off school; a multiweek clinic asks for repeated attendance and should match the skill level named on the session.
Chicago Sky Basketball Academy offers girls-only training and grade-school teams at different commitment levels. Current Fall 2026 offerings cover grades 1–11 at gyms including the Latin School, Catherine Cook School, and Chicago City Day School.
Pros
The grades 1–4 training option lists $120 for three sessions or $220 for six. Grade-school fall teams run September 2 through October 24, practice twice each week, and play Saturday games or tournaments. Those teams list a $900 season fee plus about $100 for a new-player uniform. Training and team placement should be compared separately.
Cons
Best fit
A player can want Chicago Sky coaching without wanting a two-practice-plus-game week. The shorter training package keeps those choices separate.
Chicago Bulls Youth Hoops offers camps and clinics across Chicagoland. The overall program covers ages 3–17, while each format has its own range. Five-day summer camps serve ages 5–14 depending on location and program. One-day programs serve ages 7–14, and specialty clinics can serve ages 3–17.
Pros
Selected Gameday programs at the Advocate Center serve ages 5–14 and include two game tickets. This is a branded camp-and-clinic choice rather than a standing neighborhood league. No session cards, dates, venues, prices, or capacity were visible on the September 17 program page. The stated release pattern is early fall for in-season programs and early spring for summer.
Cons
When session cards are published, individual-player registration is the expected route because the page tells families to register for camps and clinics. The September 17 page did not expose a live session or checkout, so it does not establish a current opening.
Best fit
The Bulls logo tells you the theme. Only the eventual session card can tell you whether the age, gym, date, and price work.
Pro Skills Basketball Chicago displays a 2026 club-team interest form. The page says staff may contact a family to schedule a tryout or evaluation when that child's grade has an open team spot. The same instructions still tell applicants to choose their 2024–25 grade level, so that wording is stale and cannot establish a current grade range.
Pros
Its general club guidance says seasons typically run 8–11 months depending on the city. The Chicago overview does not list a dependable current team list, grade range, practice gym, total fee, or dated tryout schedule. Current team specifics remain unlisted.
Cons
Best fit
An interest form starts a conversation. It does not establish a roster spot or a workable season.
LVL's Travel/AAU program fields boys' and girls' travel teams in grades 3–8. The current page links tryouts for the 2026–27 fall/winter season. Its overview also describes competition by level: local play for its broader boys' and girls' programs, regional play for some teams, and regional or national tournament play at the elite level.
Pros
The provider-linked $35 tryout registration page listed August 24, 25, 26, 28, and 31, so every published date has passed. Specific team placement, practice logistics, the tournament calendar, and the total team fee require confirmation for any later opening or offer.
Cons
Best fit
The $35 covered the tryout. The season cost is separate. That distinction matters before a family reads “travel team” as a complete offer.
CYBN tournaments and CYBN leagues are team-entry events across Chicagoland. Event registration requires a registered team. The system does not advertise individual-player placement for a child who still needs a roster.
Pros
CYBN publishes divisions, dates, locations, and team fees by event. Tournament listings include boys' and girls' options, while the current league inventory is primarily boys. Its schedule is useful after a player already has a roster, or when a team is building its competition calendar.
Cons
For a parent still looking for a team, CYBN is a scoreboard. It becomes useful once a coach or team manager is choosing events for an existing roster.
Chicago's school and local-league game is a real competitive path in its own right. A younger player can spend years learning to defend, pass, finish, and play meaningful minutes before a travel schedule improves the basketball experience.
Club belongs in a separate decision. It adds a coach, a roster decision, and usually more gym time, travel, and expense. The useful question is whether those additions fit the player's current level and appetite. A shoe logo or the letters “AAU” do not answer it.
Get the Pre-Season Playbook
Everything you need to know before try-outs start — how to pick the right team, dodge hidden costs, and start the season feeling in control.
What Chicago youth basketball costs
Scroll horizontally to compare.
Tier
Price range
Chicago Park District
the September 17 activity inventory ranged from free to $44 for single-day and multiweek park activities.
Chicago Rec Sports
the Fall 2026 boys program costs $280 for eight practices and eight games. Practice-only or game-only costs $210.
i9 Sports
a current seven-week fall league reached $219 plus a $3 processing fee after earlier price tiers.
Hot Shots Sports
school-break camps listed $130 for one day, $480 for four days, and $595 for five days. Multiweek clinics and leagues use separate prices.
Chicago Sky Basketball Academy
grades 1–4 training lists $120 for three sessions or $220 for six. Fall teams list $900 for the September 2–October 24 season, plus about $100 for a new-player uniform.
the reviewed Pro Skills Chicago page does not establish a price for its 2026 interest form or a total team fee. The reviewed LVL page also does not state one total team fee; that amount and its inclusions must come with the specific offer.
Bulls Youth Hoops says summer registration typically opens in early spring. Club and AAU tryout dates are published by each organization rather than on one Chicago calendar.
The bottom line and keeping the season visible
The bottom line
For a new player, start with the nearest age-appropriate park activity, YMCA class, Chicago Rec Sports session, or one-day-per-week league. The first goal is learning the game and wanting to return next week. Nobody needs a hotel reservation for that.
For concentrated skill work, compare Hot Shots, Chicago Sky, or Bulls clinics by exact age, gym, and dates. A clinic is worth adding when the child needs more purposeful reps. The word “training” alone is not a reason to add another weekly commitment.
Treat club basketball as a separate decision with a larger schedule and budget. Pro Skills and LVL use player-level interest or tryout paths; CYBN belongs after a child already has a team because its events require team registration. The best next step is the one that gives the player useful coaching, real touches, and a level of competition they still want on Sunday night.
Keep every accepted date visible
After registration, schedules often arrive in pieces: a confirmation email, a practice reminder, a rescheduled game, and a tournament message with an address. The 6:00 p.m. tip is only half the information when the gym is across town and warmups start earlier. A shared calendar distributes those details only after someone has found and entered them.
Babs handles that earlier read. The family operating system connects to Gmail, learns the context around children, schools, and activities, and surfaces relevant events and to-dos for a parent's review. Two parents can use separate logins and share events, to-dos, and the Lineup. Destination settings govern visibility.
Gmail is the only input. After review, an approved event can be added to Google Calendar or Apple Calendar in one tap. Babs is free, in private beta, and available on iOS. Join the Babs waitlist so one parent's inbox does not remain the household's only copy of the basketball season.
Frequently asked questions
What are the lowest-cost youth basketball options in Chicago?
Chicago Park District had the lowest verified prices in the September 17 snapshot, from free to $44. Check the Park District finder because each listing may be instruction, open play, or a short competition.
Which programs are co-ed, boys-only, or girls-only?
Chicago Rec Sports serves boys in grades 1–8; its separate Early Child class is co-ed for ages 4–5. Chicago Sky is girls-only, while i9 publishes co-ed and girls divisions and LVL fields boys' and girls' travel teams. Other providers set eligibility on the individual session page.
Do parents register one player or a whole team?
Chicago Park District, Chicago Rec Sports, i9, Hi-Five, Hot Shots, and Chicago Sky use individual-player entry for the options described here. Bulls individual registration is the expected route once sessions are published; Pro Skills and LVL begin with an interest form or tryout. CYBN events and the YMCA high-school league require team registration.
How can I confirm that a program still has open places?
Use the individual session or cohort page. Chicago Park District and i9 showed openings, full groups, or waitlists in the September 17 snapshot; Hi-Five made late enrollment conditional on space. A general Register button or interest form does not establish that a specific age group has room.
What should I ask before accepting a club or AAU offer?
Ask for the exact team, practice gyms and times, tournament calendar, travel radius, and total fee. The offer should also state exclusions, attendance expectations, injury and refund terms, and what happens when school basketball overlaps.
Before enrolling, reconfirm current program dates, fees, age requirements, and availability directly with each provider.
Published · Last reviewed
Get the Pre-Season Playbook
Get everything you need to know before try-outs start. How to pick the right team, dodge hidden costs, and start the season feeling in control (not behind).