San Francisco junior golf programs, lessons and camps
Searching for junior golf in San Francisco usually starts with a simple question, such as where a child can try the sport, get individual help or play more often. Local listings mix classes, camps, tee-time discounts and tournament tours, even though each solves a different problem. The useful choice is the one that fits your child’s current interest and the time your household can realistically give it.
Key Takeaways
- —If your child wants to try golf, start at First Tee. It offers group instruction for ages 6–18 and equipment during class at Harding Park. Add Youth on Course when independent rounds make sense: Northern California membership is $60 for 365 days, and participating walking green fees are $5 or less.
- —When a child needs one-to-one feedback, Left Coast at Harding Park publishes junior lessons at $80 for 30 minutes and $140 for an hour. For competition, choose a reachable event before paying for a tour. Under Armour’s remaining fall matches are outside San Francisco, JGANC has event-specific entries, and U.S. Kids lists no upcoming San Francisco events.
Compare San Francisco junior golf options
“San Francisco” below means the program meets in the city. “Regional” means the household should expect drives elsewhere in the Bay Area or Northern California.
Instruction, camps and course access
Scroll horizontally to compare.
| Option | What to know now |
|---|---|
| First Tee registration | Group golf and life-skills instruction for ages 6–18 at 99 Harding Road. Groups follow age and development rather than playing ability. The registration route is live; current fee and remaining space are not stated. |
| Left Coast booking | One-to-one junior lessons with Alex Rodriguez, PGA, at TPC Harding Park. Left Coast lists $80 for 30 minutes and $140 for 60 minutes. No junior age range is published. |
| Presidio junior camps | The 2026 season at 300 Finley Road has ended. Past-season prices were $795 half day for ages 6–11 and $1,495 full day for ages 9–17. |
| PGA Junior Golf Camps | The 2026 Harding Park season has ended. Future dates, price and age range are not published. |
| Youth on Course | Independent course access for members ages 6–18. Northern California membership is $60 for 365 days, then the junior walking fee is $5 or less at participating courses. |
Regional leagues and tournament routes
Scroll horizontally to compare.
| Option | What to know now |
|---|---|
| Under Armour season | The fall season is underway. The $525 fee covers six nine-hole matches for ages 6–18. Its only San Francisco date has passed; four regional matches remain. No prorated fee is stated. |
| JGANC schedule | The Prep Tour is $75 for ages 7–11 and the Junior Tour is $125 for ages 12–18. Membership is regional and event costs are separate. Choose an event before using membership registration. |
| U.S. Kids SF Tour | The San Francisco directory remains live, though its Upcoming Events tab is empty. No current fall schedule or fee is published. |
| NCGA Juniors update | All remaining 2026 NCGA Juniors events were canceled. A replacement intermediate tour is being developed for 2027. |
| JTNC membership | The championship tour is for eligible players ages 10–18. Membership is $85, plus event costs, and handicap thresholds and a rules curriculum apply. Choose a JTNC event first. |
| AJGA membership | Applications for non-invitational events and qualifiers through October 12 are closed. The 2026 membership expires November 30. This is a later national route. |
The Bay Area golf guides cover nearby cities when a San Francisco schedule or course window does not fit.
Youth on Course $5 playing windows in San Francisco
The official course directory lists six San Francisco facilities. Members age 16 and older must complete age verification before arrival at all six.
Scroll horizontally to compare.
| Course | When the member rate applies |
|---|---|
| Fleming at TPC Harding Park | Anytime. |
| Golden Gate Park Golf Course | Monday–Thursday after 1 p.m.; Friday–Sunday after 2 p.m. Limited to members age 17 and younger. |
| Gleneagles at McLaren Park | Monday–Friday after 1 p.m. No weekends or holidays. Etiquette Badge required. |
| Lincoln Park Golf Course | Every day after 3 p.m. |
| Presidio Golf Course | Monday–Thursday, one hour after twilight. Walk-ups only; no advance booking. |
| TPC Harding Park | Monday–Thursday, excluding holidays. After 4 p.m. April–October and after 2 p.m. November–March. |
An anytime Fleming round and a weekday-after-twilight Presidio round may both cost $5, yet they solve very different scheduling problems. The trick is knowing which layer your child is in and not paying for the next one before it solves a real need.
How San Francisco youth golf actually works, in 60 seconds
- First swings and group instruction
- First Tee teaches the basic shots, etiquette and on-course habits in an age- and development-based group. Equipment is available during class, so a family does not need to buy a full set before a first session.
- Independent rounds
- Youth on Course lowers the junior walking fee once a child is ready to play outside a coached class. It provides course access rather than lessons or supervision.
- Individual feedback
- A private lesson makes sense when there is a specific swing, club or practice question to work on. It is a focused addition to group instruction, not an automatic next level.
- A score that counts
- Under Armour and JGANC provide regional scored events. JTNC and AJGA have stronger eligibility or performance gates and belong later in the decision.
The affordable base: where to start
This is the most important part for families who want to find out whether a child likes golf. First Tee San Francisco teaches ages 6–18 at 99 Harding Road, with groups based on age and development rather than handicap. New and improving golfers are welcome.
The curriculum includes putting, chipping, full swing, etiquette and age-appropriate time on the course, alongside life skills. First Tee has equipment for different ages and dexterity to use during class. Closed-toe athletic shoes, water and a layer for San Francisco weather are enough for the first visit. Call 415-731-4653 or use the First Tee contact for the current fee, schedule and space.
Youth on Course does a different job. Its Northern California membership is $60 for 365 days and includes an NCGA-administered handicap. Members pay $5 or less for their own walking green fee at participating courses. Cart charges and an accompanying adult’s fee remain separate. Approved U.S. applicants facing financial hardship can receive a $5 membership.
Instruction and named coaches
Once group clinics stop meeting a child’s need for individual feedback, the next layer can be a private coach. Alex Rodriguez, PGA, is Left Coast Golf’s director of instruction at TPC Harding Park. Left Coast lists junior prices of $80 for 30 minutes and $140 for 60 minutes.
A TPC Harding Park rate sheet from 2025 still shows $75 and $125 for Rodriguez’s junior lessons. Budget from the newer Left Coast prices. Neither source publishes a junior age minimum or equipment policy.
A practical rule: add a private coach when the group setting no longer gives a child the specific feedback they need. A half hour can cover one focused correction. The hour gives more room for diagnosis, several shot types and a practice plan. The lesson should have a clear job for the money to be worth it.
What the 2026 junior golf camps included
Presidio Golf Course’s ended 2026 camp was the more detailed package. PGA-member instructors taught beginner and intermediate players at about a 5:1 student-to-instructor ratio. Half-day camp served ages 6–11, and full-day camp served ages 9–17.
Both formats included instruction, range or practice balls, practice and course fees, gift merchandise, launch-monitor and video work, plus a $75 future range credit. Full-day campers also received lunch and on-course play. Presidio strongly recommended a child’s own clubs and supplied a loaner set when needed. The 2026 prices were $795 for half day and $1,495 for full day. Program questions go to playerdevelopment@presidiogolf.com or 415-948-4004 by text.
The PGA Junior Golf Camp at Harding Park used PGA or LPGA professionals, an approximate 6:1 ratio and a modified full-day schedule. The curriculum covered full swing, short game, rules, etiquette and games. Alex Rodriguez was the listed camp director, and lunch was not included. Its 2026 season is over; future dates, price, equipment terms and age range are not published.
The regional tournament path
When your child wants to compete beyond a clinic, the structure changes from “show up and have fun” to “post a score that counts.” Under Armour’s San Francisco league and JGANC ask for two different kinds of commitment.
- —September 26: Franklin Canyon
- —October 3: Napa/Kennedy
- —October 17: Mission Hills
- —October 31: Skylinks at Buchanan
Under Armour uses boys’ and girls’ divisions for 8U, 9–10, 11–12, 13–14 and 15–18, based on age on February 1, 2027. The $525 fall fee covers six nine-hole matches, a player gift and medals. The only San Francisco match was September 12 at Fleming. The four remaining dates are elsewhere in the Bay Area, and the registration page does not state a reduced price for joining after the season began. League director Marc Escalante is listed at 510-860-5770 and mescalante@uajuniortour.com.
JGANC gives families a larger Northern California event menu. The $75 Prep Tour serves ages 7–11, who play nine holes and may use caddies. The $125 Junior Tour serves ages 12–18. JGANC publishes divisions for ages 7–9, 10–11, 12–13, 14–15 and 16–18 and says members can choose among more than 60 events. Entry fees, eligibility and space belong to each event page, which is why choosing the date comes before paying for membership.
U.S. Kids Golf still has a San Francisco Local Tour page, but it lists no upcoming events. A named fall director without a published schedule does not give a household an event to plan around.
Championship tours have clear gates
NCGA canceled its remaining 2026 junior events. It is developing a 2027 intermediate tour for ages 10–18, with proposed Handicap Index bands of 4.1–18.4 for boys and 6.1–18.4 for girls. The name, schedule and price have not been published.
JTNC is the current Northern California championship route for ages 10–18. It requires an index of 4.0 or lower for boys or 6.0 or lower for girls, an $85 membership, and the mandatory Rules and Etiquette Curriculum. Start with an eligible event on the schedule rather than treating membership as the automatic sequel to a first tournament.
AJGA is the later national route. Applications for its non-invitational tournaments and qualifiers through October 12 have closed, and 2026 memberships expire November 30. A player pursuing that route now is planning the next cycle, apart from AJGA’s narrow December showcase exception.
If your child wants to try golf, start with First Tee registration. If they need more course time, choose a Youth on Course window that fits the week. If they are ready to compete, choose an event your household can reach before paying for the tour. Golf rewards the long game. Play it.
Which San Francisco junior golf path fits now?
Scroll horizontally to compare.
| If your priority is… | Best fit | Also consider |
|---|---|---|
| New golfer without clubs | First Tee San Francisco | Equipment is available during class, so the first decision can be about interest rather than a full club purchase. |
| One specific swing question | A 30-minute Left Coast lesson | Choose the hour when several shot types, diagnosis and a practice plan need room. |
| A future week of golf camp | The next Presidio or PGA Harding Park schedule | Compare pickup time, lunch, on-course play, equipment and price when new sessions appear. |
| Regular independent rounds | Youth on Course | Choose a workable San Francisco course window before paying for membership. |
| Several scheduled nine-hole matches | Under Armour | The four remaining fall matches are outside San Francisco, so travel is part of the fee. |
| Individual regional tournament dates | A suitable JGANC event | Choose the event first; its fee, eligibility and space are specific to that listing. |
What junior golf costs in San Francisco
Scroll horizontally to compare.
| Tier | Price range |
|---|---|
| First Tee San Francisco | The current fee is not published on the registration hub. Class equipment is available, so a family does not need to buy clubs before the first session. |
| Youth on Course | $60 for 365 days in Northern California, then $5 or less for the junior walking fee. Cart and adult fees are separate; approved hardship memberships are $5. |
| Left Coast junior lessons | $80 for 30 minutes or $140 for 60 minutes on the current Left Coast page. A 2025 TPC sheet lists lower rates, so budget from the newer Left Coast prices. |
| Presidio junior camp | Past 2026 price: $795 half day or $1,495 full day. The season has ended. |
| Under Armour Junior Tour | $525 for the published six-match fall season. No late-entry or prorated price is stated. |
| JGANC | $75 Prep or $125 Junior for the 2026 calendar year, plus event-specific entry fees. |
| JTNC | $85 membership, plus event-specific costs, after the player meets the handicap and curriculum requirements. |
More Guides
Other sports in San Francisco
Golf in other locations
Before enrolling, reconfirm current program dates, fees, age requirements, and availability directly with each provider.
Published · Last reviewed