Lacrosse (Girls) · Dallas

Dallas girls lacrosse: youth programs, costs and 2027 dates

A Dallas family can hear “girls lacrosse” and still be choosing among a $10 first clinic, a neighborhood spring team, a school program, and a tryout-based travel club. The useful questions are grade, school, home boundary, and season commitment. Then compare fields, dues, gear, and capacity.

Key Takeaways

  • —1. New players should start with spring. Dallas City Spring 2027 registration is open for kindergarten through eighth grade and closes January 11 or when a grade fills. Its January 10 clinic costs $10, rising to $15 after January 1, and can provide a stick.
  • —2. Eligibility follows home area and school. Dallas City serves most of Dallas ISD and the Lake Highlands feeder area when a girl's school has no team, and it excludes Highland Park. Limited out-of-district placement costs another $200 and is not guaranteed.
  • —3. Add travel after the local spring team is settled. GRIT lists Dallas teams and Texas Nationals may offer limited supplemental evaluations after its main 2026-27 tryouts. Neither publishes complete current roster-opening and dues information.

Dallas girls lacrosse here means girls field lacrosse. The girls game uses different rules and equipment from boys lacrosse, with a separate North Texas youth league.

How Dallas girls lacrosse is organized

Try Lacrosse clinic
A one-hour first experience in small groups with foam balls. Dallas City's January clinic serves kindergarten through eighth grade and can provide a stick.
Town spring team
Spring is the primary local season and the main youth route. The North Texas league guide identifies the Texas Girls Youth Lacrosse League (TGYLL) as the governing body for girls teams in grades one through eight. A local town or school program trains the player, forms the team, and enters league games by grade. Dallas City runs kindergarten games in-house below that league structure.
Town fall program
Dallas City's five-week off-season block is supplemental and limited to players who participated the previous spring. New players use clinics and the spring program instead.
School or community high school team
Girls in grades nine through 12 play in North District programs governed by the Texas Girls High School Lacrosse League (TGHSLL); the league directory is the starting point.
Travel club
A tryout-based team with additional fall, winter, or summer practices and tournaments. It supplements the town or school route.

Dallas City girls lacrosse progression by grade

Scroll horizontally to compare.

GradePublished format
KindergartenIn-house 4v4 games, no goalie, foam balls, and a reduced field
First/second4v4 against local programs, no goalie, and a reduced field
Third/fourth8v8 with a goalie, plus more team play and two weekly practices
Fifth/sixth12v12 regulation-format games, two weekly practices, and league play after spring break
Seventh/eighth12v12 regulation-format games, followed by the high school route in ninth grade

Town, school and club routes for Dallas girls

Dallas City Lacrosse

Town youth program · Ages kindergarten through eighth grade · Spring 2027 dues range from $195 to $595 by grade; uniform, equipment, and USA Lacrosse membership are separate. · Glencoe Park, North Dallas High School, or Woodrow Wilson High School, depending on grade

Programs

Dallas City serves girls who live in most of Dallas ISD or the Lake Highlands community and attend a school without a lacrosse program. Its published boundary runs from I-635 on the north and east to I-30 on the south and I-35E on the west, excluding the Town of Highland Park. It offers spring teams, a returning-player fall block, and clinics.

Coaching

Kindergarten and first/second grade have one main Saturday practice. Older groups publish two weekly practices, followed by Sunday league games later in the season.

Pros

Spring registration is open to new and returning players. The January clinic lets a girl hold a stick before committing, or a family can register for the full season and use the clinic as an extra introduction.

Cons

A girl in the Dallas City or Lake Highlands area who attends a West Dallas Catholic school may choose Dallas City or the Catholic feeder program, but cannot play for both. Registration closes January 11 or when the grade reaches capacity.

Best fit

A kindergarten through eighth-grade player in the approved Dallas City area whose school does not sponsor lacrosse.

School and high school programs

School-aligned youth and high school route · Ages grades nine through 12 for TGHSLL · Program-specific; no single current fee applies across the district. · Dallas-Fort Worth North District

Programs

If a girl's school sponsors lacrosse, that program is the starting point. Dallas City names Highland Park as a separate community and lists several private schools with their own high school programs. The Texas Girls High School Lacrosse League (TGHSLL) governs girls teams in grades nine through 12, and its North 2026 listing is the current district route for Dallas-Fort Worth programs.

Coaching

The school athletics page and district listing identify the team. That program supplies the field, registration terms, and 2027 dates.

Pros

School alignment matters more than the nearest field. Use that route before considering extra club travel.

Cons

Girls high-school lacrosse is not a University Interscholastic League sport; lacrosse does not appear on the current UIL sports list. Dallas City's youth registration does not establish a high-school place.

Best fit

A girl whose school sponsors lacrosse or a ninth- through 12th-grader looking for her North District program.

GRIT Dallas

Girls travel club and developmental program · Ages graduation years 2027 through 2036 · A current total club fee is not public. · Hockaday and the Lacrosse Barn

Programs

GRIT lists Dallas girls teams by graduation year from 2027 through 2036, along with developmental camps.

Coaching

The public tryout page links a 2026-27 registration.

Pros

It gives Dallas players a local club comparison after the eligible town or school team is settled.

Cons

The public page does not state team openings or the weekly schedule.

Best fit

A player seeking more training and travel after the town or school schedule is clear.

Texas Nationals

Girls travel club · Ages graduation years 2028 through 2035 for the completed 2026-27 tryout cycle · A current total girls club fee is not public. · Team-specific

Programs

Texas Nationals says its main 2026-27 girls tryouts have concluded. Limited supplemental evaluations may be available for select positions. Registration for the 2027-28 tryout cycle opens May 1, 2027.

Coaching

A supplemental evaluation should identify the exact graduation-year team and position.

Pros

It offers a later club comparison for a player seeking tournament travel.

Cons

The main 2026-27 tryout window has ended, and a supplemental place is not assured.

Best fit

A player who confirms a supplemental opening or plans for the next tryout cycle.

Girls equipment and financial assistance

For a girls field player, the USA Lacrosse equipment guide requires a girls lacrosse stick, mouthguard, and protective eyewear. Dallas City strongly recommends cleats for younger players and requires them for fifth grade and above. Girls field players do not need the helmet, shoulder pads, arm pads, and gloves used in the boys game. Goalkeepers use position-specific protection, including a helmet, throat protector, chest protector, and padded gloves.

Do not buy a stick solely for the January clinic; Dallas City provides one when needed. The spring set needs certified eyewear, a legal stick, and the right fit. Dallas City's financial assistance can cover registration and help with uniforms, cleats, sticks, eyewear, and mouthguards. It does not cover the USA Lacrosse membership or transportation.

Settle the local team before adding travel

Dallas City's own guidance treats travel as an addition to the town team. Settle the eligible spring team first, then compare club practice sites, tournament weekends, roster opening, and total cost against the family's available time.

Before paying for a travel club, get one written total for the exact team. It should identify club dues, uniform, ordinary practice fields, tournament entry, travel, lodging, and refund terms. A current tryout link alone does not establish the season's total cost or a roster place.

Dallas girls lacrosse options at a glance

Scroll horizontally to compare.

If your priority is…Best fitAlso consider
One first sessionDallas City's January 10, 2027 Try Lacrosse clinic for kindergarten through eighth gradeIt costs $10, rising to $15 after January 1, and sticks are available.
Kindergarten through eighth grade in Dallas ISD or the Lake Highlands feeder areaDallas City Spring 2027 registrationIt closes January 11 or when a grade fills.
A school that sponsors lacrosseThat school or its feeder programDallas City serves eligible girls whose school does not have a program.
A Highland Park familyThe Highland Park programDallas City's approved area excludes the Town of Highland Park.
A player outside the Dallas City boundaryThe town or school program aligned with her home and schoolDallas City may accept a limited out-of-district player for another $200, subject to a roster cap, but placement is not assured.
A returning player who wants a short fall seasonDallas City's five-week fall programIt is for returning Spring 2026 players who are also registered for Spring 2027.
More training and travelCompare GRIT and Texas Nationals after the town or school schedule is clear.Neither publishes complete current opening and dues information.
Grades nine through 12Her school and the TGHSLL North District listingHigh-school girls lacrosse is outside the UIL.

Get the Pre-Season Playbook

Everything you need to know before try-outs start — how to pick the right team, dodge hidden costs, and start the season feeling in control.

What Dallas girls lacrosse costs

Scroll horizontally to compare.

TierPrice range
January 10 Try Lacrosse clinic$10, rising to $15 after January 1
Dallas City kindergarten$195
Dallas City first/second grade$295
Dallas City third/fourth grade$395
Dallas City fifth/sixth grade$495
Dallas City seventh/eighth grade$595
Limited out-of-district placementAdd $200 if Dallas City accepts the player; the fee does not guarantee a place.
GRIT and Texas Nationals travel clubsNeither publishes a current total girls club fee.
USA Lacrosse membership and starter gearThe Dallas City assistance page lists a $30 annual membership, about $50 or more for a stick, $50 or more for protective eyewear, $20 for a mouthguard, $50 or more for cleats, and roughly $50 to $100 or more for a uniform. Actual equipment prices vary, and a player may already own usable cleats.

Dallas girls lacrosse calendar for 2026-27

Scroll horizontally to compare.

MonthWhat's happening
Now through January 11Dallas City Spring 2027 registration is open. It closes January 11 or earlier when a grade reaches capacity.
September 27-October 25Dallas City's five-week fall program runs for returning players. New players use clinics and spring instead.
December 12Dallas City lists a kindergarten through seventh-grade clinic at the Lacrosse Barn for $125 plus a registration fee.
January 10, 2027The Dallas City Try Lacrosse clinic serves kindergarten through eighth grade. The fee rises from $10 to $15 after New Year's Day.
Mid-to-late FebruaryDallas City spring practices begin by grade. Younger groups practice once weekly; older groups publish two weekly practices.
March-AprilMiddle-school league games begin after Dallas ISD spring break. Younger league games are concentrated in April.
April 24-25Dallas City's current fifth/sixth and seventh/eighth pages list the TGYLL end-of-season tournament.
May 1Texas Nationals opens registration for its early-August 2027 girls tryouts.
Summer and early fallTravel clubs run tournaments and the next tryout cycle. Dates, teams, and fields are club-specific.

The bottom line for Dallas girls lacrosse families

For a beginner in the Dallas City boundary, the January 10 clinic is the easiest first look, while Spring 2027 is the actual entry season. Registration is already open and can close by grade before January 11. A returning player can add fall, but the five-week fall block is not open to newcomers.

For a youth player whose school already has a team, use that school route. Outside the Dallas City boundary, the town or school program must confirm eligibility before payment. Dallas City may have limited out-of-district room, though the extra fee does not guarantee a place.

Travel clubs fit after the spring team is settled. GRIT has Dallas teams and developmental programs; Texas Nationals has finished its main 2026-27 tryouts and may evaluate limited supplemental openings. The best fit is the one with a confirmed roster place, a workable weekly drive, and a complete cost for the actual team.

Dallas girls lacrosse FAQs

How much does girls lacrosse cost in Dallas?

Dallas City's Spring 2027 dues range from $195 for kindergarten to $595 for seventh/eighth grade. Uniform, equipment, and a $30 USA Lacrosse membership are separate. A limited accepted out-of-district player pays another $200. GRIT and Texas Nationals do not publish a current total girls club fee.

Which Dallas girls lacrosse program is my daughter eligible for?

Dallas City primarily serves girls in most of Dallas ISD and the Lake Highlands feeder area who attend a school without its own lacrosse program. Its boundary excludes Highland Park. A girl in the area who attends a West Dallas Catholic school may choose Dallas City or the Catholic feeder program. Outside that setup, start with the program sponsored by her school or serving her home area.

Where can a beginner start?

Dallas City's January 10 Try Lacrosse clinic is open to kindergarten through eighth grade, uses foam balls, and can provide a stick. Spring is open to new players. Dallas City fall lacrosse is reserved for returning players, so it is not the beginner route.

What equipment does a girls lacrosse beginner need?

A girls field player needs a girls lacrosse stick, mouthguard, and certified protective eyewear. Dallas City also recommends or requires cleats by grade. A beginner can borrow a stick at the January clinic before buying one. Goalkeepers need separate protective equipment.

How can I tell whether a grade still has space?

Dallas City says registration closes January 11 or when a grade fills, so an open registration page is the useful capacity signal for its spring teams. A travel-club roster offer should name the exact graduation-year team and position. Texas Nationals says its main tryouts are complete and supplemental evaluations are limited; GRIT does not state current roster availability.

Does a Dallas girl need a travel club to keep playing?

No. TGYLL town or school programs provide the youth spring route, and TGHSLL programs cover grades nine through 12. A travel club adds practices and tournament dates outside that core path. It should fit around the eligible town or school team rather than replace it.

Use the Dallas youth sports hub to compare other local sports, and the pre-season playbook to sort registration, gear, and schedule handoffs before the first practice email.

Lacrosse in other locations

Before enrolling, reconfirm current program dates, fees, age requirements, and availability directly with each provider.

Get the Pre-Season Playbook

Get everything you need to know before try-outs start. How to pick the right team, dodge hidden costs, and start the season feeling in control (not behind).